Life from a caffeine hyped point of view

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Dance

with 4 comments

How many of you out there like to dance? Are you a throw yourself into the spirit and move to the music or are you a closet dancer? How many of you, when no one is watching, find yourself moving to music wishing that you too could glide around the floor? Admit that you watch Dancing with the Stars, not for the stars but the dance aspect.

It seemed like every little girl I went to primary school with went to ballet class. I was a tomboy, those tutus were godawful and too besides, my parents weren’t going to waste perfectly good money on something like dance class. Boy did I envy those girls. even though they were a part of that secret clique, separated from the rest of us by their shared language of jete, pirouette and turned out toes.  For a non-girly girl like me, a non-joiner at that, it’s a bit schizophrenic, I can only think it must have been the grace and beauty in movement, because I’m also fascinated by good ballroom dancers too. It’s kind of weird because I was as introverted as hell and had a horror of public anything.  Though I figured in the lead of a couple of school plays I really hate being in the public eye. Yes, it’s true. And that includes the television years when I was in FRONT of the camera. It does not come naturally. 

However, on the dance floor I’ve been known to turn into a regular exhibitionist a time or two. Okay, it’s understandable, I’m Trini, we dance from  cradle, with varying degrees of competence of course. I’m a fair dancer by all accounts though I have yet to take a dance class. Mostly it’s just around the living room floor with the hound as an audience.

But that’s all about to change. As part of my development plan, I can’t believe I just said that, dance class is on the cards. Move over Blue, I’m joining you at Belly Dancing class even if it kills me. It’s going to be interesting if nothing else. Wish me luck. As soon as I can hit some unsuspecting prey over the head, we’re going to ballroom dancing. 

Jah help me.

 

 

Written by coffeewallah

May 22, 2008 at 3:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hahah bout time, look forward to seeing you there

    lilgirlblue

    May 22, 2008 at 10:29 pm

  2. hmmm ….. inter-rest-ing ….. looking forward tuh de update ….. cuz a friend of mine was trying to get ME to do belly dancing too ….

    I LOVE dancing …. well not doing it …… but looking at people who can do it …. dancing with the stars is da bomb ….. Janet Jackson is da bomb ….. Chris Brown is da bomb (and delish!) ….. P Diddy ….. Usher …… love to see these guys dance ….

    About 3 weeks ago ….. I witnessed a truly amazing dance display at Coco Lounge …… it was a regular Friday nite lime …… but on the inside …… there was a couple dancing the nite away …. people even made space for them (and de place was pack!) …… my friend and I looked on in awe ….. thinking to ourselves …… dat dey eh fuh real …… dey hadda be in some dance class or sumtin …… we couldn’t help ourselves …… we just had to express our appreciation for the ‘show’ ….. and maco de scene too …. turns out ….. they were not just two people liming ….. who could real dance …… the guy is a dance instructor ….. and I guess the girl is one of his students …..

    From my vast liming experience ….. I’ve noticed that …. trinis doh really dance …… dey prefer tuh ‘pose’ ….. I would know ….. cuz I’m often ‘posing’ …. lookin on at the few ‘dancers’ ……

    wuzdescene

    May 26, 2008 at 4:12 pm

  3. The X-man is quite a dancer, it was a lovely experience to dance with him, you felt like a girl. Not so sure about the belly thing, vacillating. Will keep you posted though I expect that you could come shake your groove thang too!

    coffeewallah

    May 26, 2008 at 6:22 pm

  4. Nah gyul …… my belly does do nuff dancin on its own!

    but oh gorm …. ah know exactly what yuh mean bout de ‘fellin like ah girl’ thing …. I love to dance with a man ….. who could dance! …. but da’is ah real endangered species tho ….. actually I think they’re extinct! 🙂

    wuzdescene

    May 27, 2008 at 6:10 pm


Leave a Reply

