Life from a caffeine hyped point of view

Just another WordPress.com weblog

If Life were a John Hughes film….

with 3 comments

What would your soundtrack be? While cadging a ride with me, jazz friend asked what type of music I liked. All kinds of course. My tastes are eclectic, but you already know that. The music that has the most influence is of course, anything made in the eighties, hence the John Hughes reference. He and John Waters were two of the most popular filmmakers of that era with their made for teenage angst movies. Of course you remember Crybaby, Hairspray, Ferris Bueller’s DayOff, Sixteen Candles, Pretty in Pink, The Breakfast Club. The same way you sang along with Boy George, Madonna and Wham! As with any self respecting teenager, music was a huge part of the landscape and the songs have resonance even now.

If I were a John Waters heroine I’d probably be a cross between Ricky Lake, Lilli Taylor and Christina Ricci. All quirky, not typical Hollywood pretty girl types. Sort of out there, a little weird, not a joiner but a character. That’s pretty much me. Even if I don’t always look it these days! Hopefully I could snag Johnny Depp or John Cusak to be my leading man. Also not conventional actors.

What would be on the soundtrack:

The opening credits would roll over Mathew Wilder’s Break My Stride for sure!
Linesman for the County – Glen Campbell (played incessantly on the jukebox of the bar across the Main Road)
Leaving on Jet Plane
Your Song/Daniel – Elton John (these would be in my personal Top 10)
Staying Alive – The Bee Gees
Sweet Child of Mine – Guns and Roses
A Little Help from My Friends/Let It Be – The Beatles
Don’t Stop Believin’ -Journey
Feels So Good- Chuck Mangione
Imagine – John Lennon
Blue – 3Canal
LA Woman – The Doors
Kind of Blue – Miles Davis
Rivers of Babylon – Boney M
Redemption Song/Waiting in Vain – Bob Marley
Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough/Thriller – Michael Jackson
Every Breath You Take/Every Little Thing She Does is Magic – The Police

The list is endless really. What would be yours?

Written by coffeewallah

May 29, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s the coolest lead-in line I’ve read all day!

    Did you ever see Heathers? I have a sudden urge to watch that too now. Utoh, all down hill from here 😉 I can feel the ’80s inspirational nostalgia kicking in. There’s something missing though – the Rocky mega montage background music maybe?

    Catatonic Kid

    June 1, 2008 at 12:39 am

  2. Yes, I have seen Heathers…this is really a wakeup and smell the ’80’s moment. Can anyone say VH1!

    Coffeewallah

    June 2, 2008 at 4:43 pm

  3. I appreciate your wp template, wherever did you obtain it from?

    Craig Brucz

    October 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm


Leave a Reply

