Life from a caffeine hyped point of view

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Making lists or the perils of getting older

with one comment

I make lists all the time. Grocery lists, to-do lists, to go lists, completed work, uncompleted work, bills paid, bills unpaid; lots of lists. It constantly amazes me this list writing, I used to be able to keep all this stuff in my head. And then, for a while, being re-assimilated into the corporate culture, I went to all this training, we learnt to document, make lists, plan. It seems now like a symptom, a dumbing down. All these things that we knew, reduced to lines on a page. Encouraged not to dream, but to acutalise our dreams by committing them to concrete planning to make them a reality.

Shudder. Because you see, the purpose of my dreaming is to gain respite from this moment. I don’t necessarily want to DO some of the things I dream about, if I did, I would. My philosophy in the last few  years, live in the moment. That does not mean not plan or have long term goals, it is the acceptance that yesterday is a memory and tomorrow is a dream, today is all you have. Instead of constantly being dissatisfied, ever waiting, appreciate the now for what it is. 

And this is what is starting to bother me about all these lists. They are everywhere. I find them in my notebooks, on the microwave, in my handbag, on my computer. My day is constantly being organised around a list, the delineations of time where every moment is planned for. They are reminders, of what might be, what I should or could be doing.  Isn’t it terrible, to be afraid of something as banal as letters/words on a piece of paper or computer screen?

Written by coffeewallah

August 26, 2008 at 6:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OMG …. I do the same thing ….. sometimes I don’t even look at the lists ….. but I just have to write them ….. I keep a hard copy …. and a soft copy …… and I even put ‘reminders’ on my cell phone ….. WHY? ….. you would swear I have ah life! 🙂

    wuzdescene

    September 3, 2008 at 4:23 pm


Leave a Reply

